Apple Road Trip

Well, it’s a Monday afternoon road trip for AL and I. Just a quick reminder; AL is what I call my MacBook Pro and of course Yves (the iPhone) is with us as well.  We are sitting in a café waiting for the missus to join us after work.

It is weird to leave the comfort of your own home where one has pretty much everything at hand and go somewhere you will have to pay for anything you want. However, I had to get out of my house. The weather was somewhat agreeable to go for a short walk to my local Internet enabled café. The agreeable weather is a balmy -7C (-13C with the wind chill); which compared to last 10 days or so makes it feel like summer outside. Prior to today, the temperature hovered around -30C (-40C with the wind chill), so going outside was not an option I would have even considered. The more agreeable weather and the chance to get some fresh air is not why I decided to leave the creature comforts of home. I had to get out of my apartment because I could no longer take the noise all around me. To say the walls in my building are paper-thin would not do justice how thin the walls are. From the outside they look thick enough, but once you spend a few minutes inside, you quickly realize there is nothing between them but air.

When my fiancée and I visited the apartment last summer, there was no noise at all. All seemed peaceful and although the living room was not as big as I would have liked, the rest of the apartment was great. There are six apartments in the building; the elderly landlady occupies one apartment and another by her son and daughter in-law. The other renters are couples in their 30s. The building is within walking distance a few grocery stores and in the summer, is a 10-minute bike ride to an outdoor market. There are a few cafés, restaurants, bistros, and bars within the area. So when we signed the lease, we had no way of knowing what we were walking into.

We met our downstairs neighbor on our second day in the building. He warned us the walls were thin and that he was able to hear the previous tenant sneeze. He told me that if ever I thought he was being to loud, I should come and see him. I thought to myself, he must be exaggerating to how thin the walls were. Well, he wasn’t. As I mentioned, the landlord, her son, and daughter in-law live in the building and they don’t talk, so much as they yell. Not angry yelling; but rather just normal conversation yelling. Sometimes, they hold entire conversations between floors. I can turn off the volume on my TV and found what station my neighbors are watching, and I sometimes I feel a part of their conversations.

If it was only the landlord and her relations who were loud, I could live with it, maybe. However, the guy who lives on top of us doesn’t walk so much as stomp. There are times I think he is going to come through the ceiling the way he walks.  He’s another loud talker. My fiancée and I have nicknamed him Boomboom. When Boomboom comes down the stairs, it sounds like a charging herd of elephants. If any of you think I’m exaggerating, I will gladly have you over so you can experience first hand the stampede every morning and those evenings he goes out at night.

My biggest beef is with the guy who lives in the apartment below me. You remember him, the one who warned me the walls were thin and I should let him know if he was being to loud. This genius decided to install a home theater unit with what I can only guess is surround sound, speakers on the wall and ceiling. He watches TV or plays a video game sometimes so loud, that the floor under me vibrates. I can feel these vibrations sometimes when I am lying on the couch, that is how loud it is.

In a battle to listen to what I am watching/playing, I have to raise the volume on my TV. I have to raise it to such a volume that it is no longer pleasant to me. In the evenings, my fiancée goes to bed before I do, so I lower the TV so as not to bother her. However this asshole keeps his as loud as ever. Sometimes I end up watching my show; but listening to his. Some of you may be thinking why not go down and talk to him? Well, I’ve done that and my fiancée has as well. Each time, normal listening volumes lasted about a week. Neither my fiancée or I should have to go downstairs every night to ask him to lower the volume on his TV. If he hasn’t understood how loud it is by now, he never will.

I am not sure if these people don’t realize how loud they are or if they don’t care. In the end, I have two solutions. I can stay at home and live with the noise. I can keep complaining; but then I just look like a complete asshole; especially if I’m going down to complain about the noise at three in the afternoon. My other choice is to do what I am doing now, going out to a café. It is kind of sad that I find it quitter in a café full of people, than I do at home.

The only thing I am sure of is that we will not renew our lease on the 1st of July. In Montreal, it is necessary to give notice at least three months before the end of your lease if you don’t want it automatically renewed. My fiancée and I are now sixty days away from giving notice. The end of my lease can not come soon enough.

This blog entry may not have had much to do with my new life with Apple products; but it was written on my MacBook while sitting in a café, listening to music from iPhone.

Leave a Reply

