Embracing Change

My previous blogs have been about my move from Windows / Android based tech to an all Apple world. This post is not so much about the move from one eco system to another; but how much the move has affected me.

I recently started a new job. As with any new job, you get a computer to work on. However, unlike everywhere else I have ever worked I was given a PC with Windows 7 and an iMac with Snow Leopard  (OS X 10.6.8). At home I exclusively use my MacBook Pro, this is the first time I have ever had an opportunity to use an iMac. Although the majority of the applications I have to support are available for both Windows and Mac, I find myself using almost exclusively the iMac. The PC sits there behind me not doing much. I only use it when I have to do a web conference as the plugin seems to work better on the PC than it does on the iMac. I think it has more to do with the plugin not working properly in Firefox and this is true for both the the PC and iMac

I was speaking with a friend of mine about the two computers I have available to me and how I do as much as possible on the iMac. If six months ago someone had told me I would be all Apple, all the time and would look at Windows based PCs as something archaic and not worth the effort to even turn on.

Just a few months ago, PC stood for Personal Computer and/or Politically Correct. However, now PC stands for Portable Crap and/or Politically Correct. Whenever I have to work on my fiancée’s laptop I find it slow and clunky. Her laptop is only 3 years old, it still works and does everything she wants it to do; but just logging on seems like an eternity. Before moving from Windows to OS X, I never fully understood how long it takes to log on to a Windows based machine. Even at work when I log on, I am already working on the iMac, while the PC is still loading up after logging in.

Leave a Reply

